Suppose this was all just a hoax, a cleverly designed experiment in social engineering on the internet?
I’m thinking that the worm was designed to do nothing other than propogate itself and make everyone think it’s going to turn into a giant botnet.
There’s a bit of speculation that a man named Daniel Adams may be responsible or in some way associated with the writers of conficker. I guess there was evidence of the domain name trafficconverter.biz inside Conficker.A’s code. The domain is registered thusly:
Domain Name: TRAFFICCONVERTER.BIZ
Domain ID: D22305317-BIZ
Sponsoring Registrar: DIRECTI INTERNET SOLUTIONS PVT. LTD. D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM
Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID: 303
Domain Status: serverHold
Registrant ID: DI_5540656
Registrant Name: Daniel Adams
Registrant Organization: eosads
Registrant Address1: 13 Baterman Street
Registrant City: London
Registrant State/Province: London
Registrant Postal Code: W1D 3AF
Registrant Country: UNITED KINGDOM
Registrant Country Code: GB
Registrant Phone Number: +41.225349854
Registrant Email: ddarkmaster@gmail.com
Continue reading ‘Conficker? Has anyone seen my Conficker?’
Posted in I.T. Hell, Technology
Tags: Afilias, april fool's, CNNIC, conficker, Daniel Adams, ddarkmaster, Downandup, F-Secure, Global Domains International, ICANN, Inc., ISC, M1D Global, malware, Microsoft, Neustar, Public Internet Registry, Security, Symantec, Technology, The Dark Master, trafficconverter.biz, Verisign, Virus, Windows, worm