What the hell is happening to this country?

OK, so you will probably see a little political commentary from me form time to time, being the political hack that I am. I think it comes from being an angsty, metal-head, suburbanite teenager…but whatever. (I’m well past my teens now thank you).

A few months ago I went to go see what the woman was watching before jumping on EQ2. Yes, I know, I’m a nerd…and I’m an even bigger nerd b/c the majority of the TV I watch is PBS, the news, CSPAN and other things most people find boring.

It seems our old pal Bush has decided to start renditions again. Well, at least according to Frontline. OK, so I know you can’t trust everything you see on TV, BUT what they had on Frontline about renditions makes me sad.

I know, we’ve probably been doing this longer than it’s been in the media…but still. No matter how much I proclaimed my hatred for the messed up crap in this country as a youth, I still had a bit of pride in my country. All of this kidnapping people and shipping them off to be tortured makes me seriously say WTF?!?! Granted this was run a few months ago, but I guarentee, whatever the administration has said about it is a lie, and they are probably still doing it.

I have a big issue with the fact that this president has put himself and his administration above the law repeatedly, especially with the 1,000+ signing statements he’s attached to everything Congress has passed over the last seven years saying that, “well, this is a nice law and all, but I, nor any of my staff have to follow it.”

There was another documentary from Frontline not too long ago detailing every little bit of power that Cheney and Bush have managed to finagle away from our system of checks and balances and basically render the Constitution, the Legislative and Judicial branches of our government useless. Every single thing that that man does in some way is completely illegal and wrong. BUT I also blame every single person sitting in Congress that lets him get away with this crap. Every time they determine that something this administration has done is illegal, they sit there and whine about it rather than bring him up for impeachment. I swear, they impeach Clinton for lying about having an affair, but when THIS president does something illegal to the extreme, gets innocent people killed, ruins people’s lives, they just shake a finger at him and let him off the hook. What the hell is wrong with the idiots we entrusted to run this country when they can’t even stand up to some moron and get him out of office to save the rest of us?

I hope we get something different this time around. I don’t want Clinton to get the nomination personally. Her poor decision to “trust that he would do the right thing with the power we authorized him to have” just screams to me incompetent. How on earth could she think he would do anything OTHER than start a useless, pre-emptive war with a basically broke and useless state? I blame her and every single one of the members of Congress who were dumb enough to vote to let him do what he wanted to in regards to Iraq. What’s even worse, is now that we’re stuck in a war that was messed up from the start, and they want to just up and leave because popular public opinion tells them so. Give me a break. You let him do this, now you have to see it through, otherwise it’s going to make the whole situation even worse for the people in that part of the world, not to mention here in our country. I can’t in good conscience vote for someone lacking the spine to stand up to this bully of a president we have now. You can’t really march into a country, whose citizens did not ask you to, blow everything to hell, kill hundreds of thousands of people, completely shut down everything then say, “oops, we changed our minds…see ya!” and walk away. You don’t let the public run a war unless you want to completely mess it up. I don’t care what popular opinion on it is right now, you let the bastard start it, you now HAVE to set things to rights before you leave.

The last eight years has proven to me that the people we’re electing to lead this country are miserable failures. They pander to whatever the public thinks they want whether it is right or not. It’s quite disgusting to watch these idiots entrusted with leading our nation make decisions based solely on getting re-elected next time it comes around.

I say impeach Bush, throw him and Dick Cheney in jail on war crimes and fire the ENTIRE Congress that let them do this crap to begin with. Then you need to fire EVERYONE in the Judicial branch that gave him the OK and backed him up throughout the last 8 years of this tyrany he’s been running.

It’s kinda funny, but Megadeth predicted the situation we’re in 20 years ago…Even if you don’t like metal, it’s worth watching this little video…

Holy Wars…The Punishment Due

And this a great prediction of what was to come when Bush got elected, written 10 years prior to the event…I’m not going to post the original video that aired on MTV, because there is some imagery in it that is not what I am intending to convey what-so-ever. You can look the video up youselves on youtube if you’re interested in listening to a truly awesome song.

Symphony of Destruction
-Megadeth 

You take a mortal man,
And put him in control
Watch him become a god,
Watch peoples heads aroll
Aroll…

Just like the pied piper
Led rats through the streets
We dance like marionettes,
Swaying to the symphony…
Of destruction

Acting like a robot,
Its metal brain corrodes.
You try to take its pulse,
Before the head explodes.
Explodes…

Just like the pied piper
Led rats through the streets
We dance like marionettes,
Swaying to the symphony…
Of destruction

The earth starts to rumble
World powers fall
Awarring for the heavens,
A peaceful man stands tall
Tall…

Just like the pied piper
Led rats through the streets
We dance like marionettes,
Swaying to the symphony…
Of destruction

I could go on and on and list the songs by bands I used to listen to as a kid that predicted just what happened at the start of this century, but I’ll spare you.

~ by g0thicicecream on February 14, 2008.

One Response to “What the hell is happening to this country?”

  1. I KNOW THAT SONG WELL. I JAMED TO IT FOR YEARS AND NOW MORE THAT EVER IT RINGS TRUE.
    TMAC

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

